suprema lex salus animarum: The supreme law [is] the salvation of souls

A single ecclesiastical Tribunal for all eight archdioceses and dioceses of the Catholic Church in Scotland was established by the Bishops of Scotland with their Decree of 25 May 1970. The Servant of God, Blessed Pope Paul VI, approved that decree on 3 July 1970. The original name of the Tribunal was the "Regional Tribunal of First Instance of Scotland" but, over the years it came to be called by various other unofficial names such as "The Marriage Tribunal" or "The National Tribunal." At the request of the Bishops of Scotland, the Apostolic Signatura, on 7 May 2012, decreed an official change in the Tribunal's name to the "Scottish Catholic Interdiocesan Tribunal" [with the acronym "SCI Tribunal"]. This title, although a little cumbersome, is more accurate from a canonical point of view. The Bishops of Scotland exercise joint juridical jurisdiction over the Tribunal through the Bishop Moderator assisted by the Interdiocesan Judicial Vicar and Judges.

IMPORTANT. All listed co-workers of the Tribunal have been approved for this apostolate by the Bishops of Scotland. Canon Law requires that the Judicial Vicar and certain others must have formal canonical qualifications. As regards the rest, the Holy See, when petitioned and provided with adequate explanation, can waive the qualifications on a case by case basis. Many of those listed below have formal academic titles in canon law. Others do not but have received the training required to fulfil the roles they play under the direction of the Judicial Vicar. A number of co-workers have been fulfilling these functions for years and so have developed great expertise in their specific field. The faithful and the public in general can therefore be confident that all co-workers of the Tribunal have the competence and skills required for their specific tasks. They are also fully aware of both the civil and canonical legal requirements which must be in place when it comes to confidentiality and data protection.


If you wish to know more please see:  "What is a Catholic Tribunal?"

Tribunal Staff

Moderator: The Most Reverend Philip Tartaglia, PhB, STD, Archbishop of Glasgow and President of the Bishops' Conference of Scotland

Officialis [or Judicial Vicar]: Mgr. Peter Canon Magee PhB STL JCD

Vice-Officiales [or Vice-Judicial Vicars]: Rev. Brian McLean PhB STB JCL, Rev. Francis Dougan PhB LLB STB JCL

Rev. Joseph Burke, Mgr. Denis Carlin, Rev. Gerard Chromy, Canon Gerard Conroy, Rev. Scott Deeley, Rev. Francis Dougan, Rev. James Duggan, Rev. John Gannon, Rev. Paul Gargaro, Mgr. Daniel Hart, Rev. Nicholas Hodgson, Mgr. Philip Kerr, Rev. Andrew Kingham, Mgr. Christopher McElroy, Rev. John McGrorry, Mgr. Paul Murray, Mgr. Basil Canon O’Sullivan, Rev. Dominic Quinn, Canon Gerard Tartaglia, Deacon John Wire.

Defenders of the Bond and "Ad Hoc" Judges: Sister Veronica Kealy, CSN, Canon John A. McGee

Defenders of the Bond: Mgr. Gerard Gallagher, Rev. Nicholas Monaghan

Promoter of Justice: Rev. Paul Gargaro [ad hoc]

Rev. Kenneth Campbell, Mrs. Frances Devlin, Ms. Mary Gallagher, Brother Charles Gay FMS, Deacon Donald Keane, Ms. Patricia Lockhart, Rev. Aidan Martin, Deacon Ronald MacAuley, Ms. Maureen McGlinchey, Rev. Paul Milarvie, Rev. Kenneth O'Brien, Rev. Dominic Quinn, Mrs. Geraldine Simpson.

Advocates/Procurators accredited to the Tribunal:
Rev. David Boyd, Rev. Maurice Callaghan, Mr. Thomas Docherty, Rev. Gerald Donnelly, Ms. Valerie Fleming, Rev. Brian Lamb, Ms. Marie Macdonald, Rev. Joseph McAuley, Mrs. Mary Quinn, Rev. Gerald Sharkey, Mrs. Lesley Ward.

Tribunal Assistants:
Mrs Margaret O’Neill, Miss Patricia Rafferty

A very grateful mention must also be made of the large numbers of committed lay men and women, religious men and women, deacons and priests throughout Scotland who volunteer to undertake the sensitive task of interviewing witnesses. They are called "Auditors" but act in the place of the Judge and under his authority. This means that the respect owed to the Court itself must likewise be shown to the Auditor. Similarly, it means that the Auditor must act with the impartiality and, in due proportion, with the responsibility of the Judge.

Copyright © 2014-2018 by SCID Tribunal